Adrienne Michetti November 2010

This month I thought I’d take a photo of my desk at home, in my tiny Manhattan apartment. This desk is actually beneath my bed, which is a loft bed. I typically have not been doing the bulk of my work at this desk because most of my books are in my locker at the library, so it makes more sense for me to work there, away from distractions. I thought I’d stay at this desk today also because I gave a presentation at the Global Education Conference and needed some privacy for the Elluminate session. However, since I began work on my thesis this semester, I have been backing up my computer (Macbook Pro) far more often than I used to — I am paranoid that I will lose my work! And to back up my work, I pretty much need to do it at this desk. As you can see on the right, I have a LaCie 1TB drive (which I nicknamed The Silver Bullet). I’ve been backing up every two days, whereas I used to only back up once every week or even every two weeks. The papers on the shelf above my computer are mostly “archived” notes from the last year of classes, and the books on the same shelf are mostly usability and design texts, most of which I’m not using for my thesis. All the important books for my thesis are in my library locker. Oh, and the cutie on my computer desktop wallpaper is my 4-month-old niece!

http://about.me/adriennemichetti/

“So many conditions of happiness are available — more than enough for you to be happy right now. You don’t have to run into the future in order to get more.” -Thich Nhat Hanh

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

