George Couros December 2010

Every year at Christmas time, educators around the world receive gifts from students and parents.  As an administrator, I still receive these gifts but I noticed something different this year; most of the gifts were not for me.  They were for my dogs.

This tells me something crucial.  My dogs are VERY important to me and I love them (Yes, I am one of those people).  I believe that the best administrators know their staff on a personal level, but they also share pieces of their life with each other as well.  I am glad that the gifts are for my dogs because that means people know me.  Have you shared your life with your students?  That will have to connect with you as a ‘person’ before they ever connect with you as a ‘teacher’.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

